Sunday, June 26, 2016

Book Review { Boy, 9, Missing }


*I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, all opinions are of my own*

SynopsisIn the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.
It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He's tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn't. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.
And now, twenty-three years later, Sam's own nine-year-old son has disappeared.

When I first started reading this book I wasn't sure how much I was going to like it since it was about a little boy dying. But I ended up being fairly interested in the book. The story line is all about Lucas, a 9 year old boy who died at a dinner party but no one knows exactly what happened until decades later when the only other boy, Sam Farr, who MAY know what happened to Lucas has a son and he is kidnapped. 

Lucas' brother is on a mission to find the missing boy and understand how it all relates to the tragic death of his brother years ago. The book goes through the brothers, Francis, point of view and 'The Sam Farr Story', which is a book that someone is ghost writing for Sam Farr about that tragic night. I really enjoyed the switching of POV because it gave us a different insight to what happened that night. 

As the book goes on there are so many twists and connections you would never see coming; it kept me interested because I wanted to see how that connected. As Francis was trying to figure out who killed his brother, as the reader I was coming up with my own scenarios. However, the book took such a shocking turn I would have never guessed how and who had done it. 

From the beginning I was hooked and loved that the plot was a who done it kind of thriller. It was an easy read and the author did a great job with the characters and keeping the readers hooked.






Don't miss a thing ~ Follow along!
bloglovin } { instagram }  { facebook } { twitter } { pinterest }

(This month's advertisement)
 photo mb750x100_zps0vdghkid.jpg

No comments :

Post a Comment